ATMEGA325PV - Solar battery - Complete noob help

Go To Last Post
43 posts / 0 new
Author
Total votes: 0

Hi all. First post here and I have zero knowledge in this field.

I have a solar battery made by Sony (Sony Fortelion IJ1001M) which has an ATMEGA325PV microcontroller on the circuit board.

The issue I wish to resolve is a convoluted one, but entails how a solar inverter interacts with this battery based on a serial number stored in the ATMEGA EEPROM. If I can change the serial number in the EEPROM, the problem will be resolved.

I assume there might be some sort of checksum in the EEPROM, so I probably can't just write to the serial number and change it as needed (I'm guessing?). To that end, I have access to an identical battery that differs only in the serial number. I wish to duplicate the code from one battery to the other so the serial numbers match.

Things I've worked out -

1. The chip has ATMEL ATMEGA 325PV 10AU 1509 written on it.

2. The Atmel website doesn't list anything ending with 325PV (it does have 325, 325A, 325P & 325PA).

3. The battery management system has a COMM OFF MODE for maintenance. I assume this is for either flashing the firmware on the BMS or the battery modules.

4. Each battery has a 10pin JTAG plug.

Some questions -

1. Is this problem likely to be solveable?

2. What sort of equipment do I need?

3. What is a good starting point to learn the required steps?

Thanks in advance for any pointers.

Last Edited: Mon. Sep 18, 2017 - 04:03 PM

Have a look at the datasheet, specifically the ordering information: http://www.atmel.com/images/doc8...

The PV is the 10MHz version that works down to 1.8V.

This device has protection that can prevent further programming/reading of the EEPROM and flash memory. If Sony enabled them, you might have to try de-capping the chip and erasing that bit with UV light.

Inappropriate: trying to circumvent product security

Meh, he owns it, he can do what he likes with it.